First Tattoo: 5/5 Stars, Would Do Again

Hey, so you remember, like literally a year ago I said I was going to get a tattoo (no joke…the post was June 29)?  Look what I did last week:

It certainly didn’t feel like butterfly kisses, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was afraid it was going to be.  I had two moments of creative swearing (thank you Archer) and I may or may not have threatened to punch a baby over one particularly sensitive spot, but overall it wasn’t terrible.  The fill felt worse than the outline,which was the opposite of what most people told me to expect.  Even when it comes to tattoo pain I have to be the weird one I suppose!

I was going to do it earlier in the year, but I wanted to wait until I had the job situation figured out (sort of silly to be spending money on a tattoo if I may have to up and quit my job at any moment, right?).  After that got settled I actually went to go talk to an artist at a particular shop, who proceeded to tell me all the reasons what I wanted to do was stupid for 10 minutes before wrapping up with “but if you want something boring and unoriginal in a really terrible spot I guess I can’t stop you”.  That…got in my head a little bit (what can I say, I tend to trust professional opinions pretty blindly), so I stepped back for a few weeks before I settled on “eff that guy” and went somewhere else.

The guy I ended up with was genuinely excited I was getting a Zelda tattoo and was super awesome during the session cracking jokes and making sure I was doing okay every once in a while.  Just for the experience of him alone I would go back and do more.  Which is convenient because my mom is talking about being serious about our joke of getting matching penguin tattoos.  I see an awesome Christmas time adventure in our future…

I’ve just now hit the itchy stage, so I’m kind of glad this is in just the perfect spot that I can’t really easily reach it.  It seems to be healing up nicely, and while I’m still getting used to it being there (I’ve sort of freaked out stepping out of the shower on more than one occasion) I’m really, really happy with it and so glad I did it.

In other news, today is our 2 year anniversary!  Yay!!

Posted on June 9, 2014, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. congrats! mine was way tougher with the fill than the outline too 🙂 nice job ditching the lame artist and finding someone that shared your vision! so glad you love it!

  2. Looks great! I’m so happy you did it! Also, happy anniversary! I can’t believe all that crazy wedding stuff was two years ago!

What's on your mind?

