Sewing Projects: Done!

When I’m not pretending to be famous on the internet (although I do have over 100 subscribers on YouTube…just sayin’), I’ve been sewing like crazy.  Somehow, I magically finished all 3 pieces a month ahead of the deadline…something I neither anticipated nor thought was even possible.  All of them were related RTX, specifically the charity auction the RTSideQuest group runs to support Child’s Play.

To give you a brief explanation, RTSideQuest is a community run group that puts together extra events outside of convention hours for RoosterTeeth fans at conventions that have a major RT presence (PAX, RTX, etc).  Since RTX is a dedicated RT convention, it’s also where RTSQ has the most stuff going on.  One of these events is a charity auction the night before the convention actually starts, a formal event in a hotel ballroom with a silent auction of items and commissions donated by the community.  It’s curated so that there’s actually things that are worth while there, and you have to fill out a form detailing what it is you’re going to donate.  There’s been everything from custom art to signed game cases (game case = portable gaming center) to clothing, you name it.

1) The Apron

One of my RoosterTeeth friends a few months ago drew up some concept art for a series of aprons based on the outfits of some characters from one of the shows the company makes.  She lamented not knowing how to sew to make any of them a reality.  I chatted with her a bit, and we came up with a plan for me to make one and record some tutorial videos for her.  I ended up with a 6 part video series on it from start to finish, totaling about an hour’s worth of instruction.  Since I don’t really need another apron in the house, I decided I would donate the finished product to the auction since it was not only unique, but appropriate for the context of the event.

2) The Backpack

Yes, I made another backpack.  Someone actually asked me a year ago at RTX2013 if I would consider making one for the auction this year, and since I had the time and new subject matter to work with I thought it’d be a great idea.  This one didn’t take quite as much time since I stuck with outlines instead of filling in the images (the rose and snowflake would have just gotten too messy to be appealing anymore), and the assembly went a lot better since I knew more of what to expect after the experience of building the last two.  This is by far my best one yet.

3) The Dress

It’s a formal event, a girl needs a pretty dress!  I didn’t really have a summer appropriate formal dress, and I didn’t really feel like spending oodles of money on a new one.  While I was searching for patterns and fabric for the apron, I stumbled across a dress pattern I thought was really pretty and past some fabric I was in love with. It was sort of an obvious choice.  So, instead of $100 or more to buy a dress, I spent $38 on materials and the pattern (thank you coupons!) and made one custom just for me.  Bonus: I finally learned how to successfully sew invisible zippers!

I’m currently working on 2 more projects before RTX and trying my hand with some paint.  One project is not difficult in the slightest and is just filling in some block lettering…the other one?  I’m trying something I’ve never, ever done before.  It requires, like, actual painting skill.  I’m hoping with some creative tracing paper action I can pull it off.  And maybe a little luck.

Posted on June 3, 2014, in Life, Personal Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. nice work! you need a pic of you modeling the dress though!

What's on your mind?

