Basements, Parties, and Travel Oh My!

Guess what!  Things are actually happening in my life that are worth talking about!  YAY!

The main construction on the basement is done.  It’s kind of looking awesome.  We wrapped up painting this weekend, so now we’re just waiting on things that were ordered to come in.  Cabinets for the wet bar will go in the first weekend of April (hopefully), then carpet can go in shortly after that.  I know Grif is going to be happy to have a large area of carpet to run around now.

This weekend we had a Rooster Teeth Michigan group event in Lansing.  We had some bumps, but all in all I think it was a success!  We had about 25 people show up over the course of it (a few people floated in and out, but I think we had 22 concurrent participants pretty much the whole time), and we all had a blast.  Turns out I still suck at bowling, but other people suck more than me so it’s okay.

I’m looking forward to a much needed week off of work next week.  I’m taking it off and flying down to see my parents!  Geoff and Grif will be staying here in MI which stinks a little, but at least I get to spend some time with my family.  I’m a bit of a nervous flier, and I’ve never actually flown by myself before, so this should be quite the adventure.  At least my layover is long enough that I don’t really have to worry about missing a connection or anything.

I’m taking a break from all my sewing projects thanks to a slice right down the middle of my thumb.  There’s too much hand work that needs to be done, and all the pressure needed from my thumb will just make the cut worse.  On the one hand it stinks I’ll be behind a bit, but on the other hand it’s nice I’ll have sort of an excuse to take a breather.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Family, Life, Personal Projects, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. wow! basement is looking GREAT!!!

What's on your mind?

