The Best Brownies Ever. Of All Time. If You’re Patient.

I am a sucker for brownies.  When I was growing up my mom, sister, and I would make special “boys are stupid” brownies when we had on of those kinds of boy issues you have when you’re in middle school and high school.  We made brownies for no reason too, but the “boys are stupid” brownies always had a little extra something in them.  Brownies are special to us, so I make a point of trying to find the best brownie recipe I can find.

Last year my friend Lauren posted what became our new favorite recipe.  I made the addition of some peanut butter chips, and they were perfect.  Perfect!  And while those brownies will still remain in the top slot for how quickly I can make them, a new challenger has stepped into the ring.

This recipe takes longer, contains 1 entire pound of butter and 30 ounces of chocolate chips, but is seriously fabulous.  I made the mistake of making the entire recipe and, based on the pictures of the relatively flat brownies, reduced the pan size to my 9×13.  Nope, definitely halving the recipe next time, or using a larger pan.  These suckers are tall.  Also, I had to add about 20 minutes to the bake time, probably because of the extra depth.

So, without any further delay, I present to you a recipe for one of the best brownies I have ever put in my mouth, courtesy of Baker Bettie!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound unsalted butter
  • 22 oz dark chocolate or chips (at least 60%), plus 10 oz dark chocolate chips
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup brewed strong coffee
  • 2 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp sea salt, plus more for sprinkling
  • 1 lb chopped pecans, toasted (optional)

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Butter and flour a half sheet pan (12x18x1 inch baking sheet).
  3. Cut the butter into chunks and place in a medium saucepan.  Brown the butter over medium heat and set aside.
  4. Melt the 22 oz of chocolate in a double boiler (or a medium bowl over simmering water).  Once the chocolate is almost completely melted, stir in the brown butter.  Continue to stir the chocolate butter mixture over the double boiler until completely smooth.  Set aside and allow to cool slightly.
  5. In a large bowl, stir together the eggs, coffee, vanilla, and sugar.  Stir the warm chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and allow to cool to room temperature.
  6. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Add to the cooled chocolate mixture.
  7. Fold in the pecans and remaining chocolate chips.
  8. Pour the mixture into the baking sheet and use a rubber spatula to smooth out.  Sprinkle sea salt over top.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes, then remove the sheet from the oven and rap it on the counter to release any air.
  10. Bake for about 15 more minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
Posted on October 24, 2013, in Life, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oooo I am going to have to try these! It has been a long time since I made brownies and now you have me craving them!

What's on your mind?

