Failures In Baking: Cooking Cream

In between costume building and regular life crises, I’ve been continuing to have some kitchen adventures.  Most have been successful (helloooo coconut drop cookies), but I have recently identified the apparent weak point in my baking: cooking cream.

I have attempted a panna cotta and a crème brûlée, both of which suffered from the same problem to varying degrees. To create either dish, you have to cook some heavy cream.  If you’ve never done this before it’s worth noting you’re never supposed to boil it, but scald it (which means to heat it to the point just shy of boiling).

In my first adventure, the panna cotta, the cream heated much more quickly than I expected and for a brief moment reached a boil.  Between that and what I believe was a gelatin fail on my part, the resulting dish had some texture consistency issues.  It wasn’t awful, but boiling the cream apparently caused it to separate.  Ick.

Learning my lesson, when I tried the crème brûlée I took the advice of the good ole internet and heated the cream in a double boiler.  The cream didn’t boil, but it also never appeared to reach the scald point either.  After heating it for what I felt was way too long, I decided to just say “good enough” and continue on my merry way.  While the effect wasn’t as bad as it was in the panna cotta, there was still some fat separation in the final product.  Grrr.

It seems I have found my baking nemesis.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Posted on October 14, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life), Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

