I AM SO MANY LEVELS OF BEHIND

I am so behind on this costume except I’m not because I’ve gotten a lot done and there’s not much left but what’s left is really time intensive and I have to go out-of-town this weekend so I lose two whole work days and I’m sort of freaking out a little bit because the show is next weekend and if this isn’t done I’m going to have a meltdown and this is ridiculous.

*catches breath*

Short post today because of the aforementioned crunch I’m in.  I thought it’d be a good opportunity to share things I’ve learned during the costume making process:

  1. I suck at following patterns.  Tracing something I already own that fits the way I want a costume to fit is the way to go.
  2. I can’t form straight lines out of non-solid objects like clay and ribbon.
  3. Fray Check is like a small bottle of magic.
  4. Wefting (the process of adding more hair to a wig) is surprisingly easy.  Not easy?  Keeping the wefts from getting tangled, and keeping the layers of the wig (which is super long) that get sectioned off not tangled.  Helpful hint: twist the sections of hair before flipping them over the top of the wig and clipping them.
  5. You’d be surprised how creative you can get when you’re in a corner.  Case in point: casting hot glue in painters trays to get domes to use on the belt.
  6. Thick craft foam works wonders and takes paint really well.
  7. Things you expect to go quickly will take a long time.  Things you expect to take a long time will go quickly.  Things you expect to take a really long time will take you so long you forget how long ago you started.
  8. There’s a big difference between doing something right and doing something so it’ll look good in pictures.  Choosing one over the other can be a saving grace or bite you in the butt.
  9. It is impossible to find reference pictures of Nintendo characters.  Turns out they safeguard screen captures pretty tightly.
  10. There’s no such thing as starting a project too early.

Have a great weekend everybody I have to go finish sewing 10 feet of extra wefts into this wig and then go to bed but I still haven’t packed yet and I can’t feel my finger tips from all this hand sewing.

Posted on October 10, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life), Personal Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

