Secret Saturday: My Weird Super Power

I guess it could always be worse. I could be the blonde chick.

There’s a weird super power that runs through my dad’s side of the family: any time they go anywhere, anywhere, they will run into someone they know.  I remember when I was younger and we’d be flying for a trip somewhere with my dad, and we’d be in the middle of some random airport, and somehow on the walk to the next gate or whatever you’d hear “oh my gosh, Jenn’s Dad how are you?!”

Every time.

I don’t know how they do it, but you can be in some random city you would normally never find yourself in, where you have zero contacts, and without fail they will find someone they know just by happenstance.  It’s crazy.

It seems to only run in the males.  None of my aunts or my grandmother have this ability.  In the past year or so, though, it seems I may have inherited it somehow.

Except I’m a girl, so it’s sort of broken.  I only run into people that I would be totally happy never seeing again.  Typically that feeling is mutual.

The latest adventure was last night. I went with my dad to the MSU football game.  He’s an MSU alumnus, and was actually on their team for a while.  I went along with him since they were playing my alma mater, and we thought it’d be fun to watch.  My team got creamed, but that was to be expected.  We also got soaked thanks to a massive thunderstorm, and we didn’t leave the stadium until about 12:30AM, but it was a fun time.

I had made a habit during the day to talk to anyone wearing a shirt for my team, since there was obviously not going to be many of us.  We’re on our way back to the car, and there are two people in front of me wearing the appropriate shirts.  I am about to say something, when the guy in front of me turns to the side a little, and I recognize him as someone I do not want interaction with.  Somehow, despite the fact that I only have 4 ex-boyfriends, I can run into them anywhere.  And none of those relationships ended well.  Let’s just say I had a habit of picking up the “lost sheep” type.

At this point, I totally freeze, and am trying to get my dad to slow down too, but my dad doesn’t pick up on subtlety too well and starts yelling “WHY DO YOU WANT TO STOP?”  This of course gets the attention of everyone in the vicinity, including said ex-boyfriend.  For clarification, this is the ex that spent some time stalking me after we broke up.  I’m sure I had quite the look of panic on my face, which was met with his own sort of look of panic/confusion.  It was just about 18 levels of awkward.

I think I want a different super power.

Posted on August 31, 2013, in Life, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

