Recipe: Jazzed Up Ramen

I don’t know about any of you, but I lived off of a combination of ramen and grilled cheese during my college years.  I managed to come up with creative ways to keep grilled cheese interesting (havarti and feta, mozzarella and pepperoni with a side of pizza sauce for dunking, to name a few), but I never did much with ramen.  The whole point of eating it was that I didn’t feel like putting in a lot of effort, so it didn’t make sense to spend extra time trying to kick it up a notch.

On one of my last trips home, my mom gave me a photocopy of a recipe from Andrew Zimmern (of Bizarre Foods America) she had pulled from the newspaper, utilizing none other than my once beloved ramen.  While I have yet to have it look like its picture (I am apparently doing something way wrong with the broth), it’s super tasty and has become a go-to staple for Geoff and I.  It’s pretty quick (I can pull the whole thing together in about 10 minutes) and can easily be modified to add or substitute other things in.  We usually grill up some chicken and throw cut up bits of that in here as well.

Ramen Noodle Soup, courtesy of Andrew Zimmern

(Makes approximately 1 to 2 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (3oz) package ramen noodles (ignore the flavor packet)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp Sriracha
  • 1/2 cup matchstick carrots
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions

Cook noodles in 2 cups of boiling water for 2 minutes.  Drain well, rinse in cold water, drain well again, and set aside.  Return saucepan to stove-top.  Bring broth to a boil over medium-high heat.  Reduce heat to medium and whisk in soy sauce, ketchup, sugar, sesame oil, and Sriracha.  Add carrots and cook for 1 minute.  Slowly whisk egg into broth.  Add noodles to broth and cook for 30 seconds.  Remove from heat; stir in lime juice and onions.

Posted on August 8, 2013, in Life, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hmmm om nom nom! I can already taste it. Don’t ask me how that’s possible…just keep ’em coming! 🙂

What's on your mind?

