Secret Saturday…Except It’s Already Sunday

Alright so I fail a little bit.  Here is a picture of my cute and exhausted puppy to help me explain myself.

I was supposed to put up a post yesterday, and I already had it sort of worked out in my head, but I didn’t count on how busy I would get so early in the day.  We finally had our housewarming party yesterday, and it was awesome.  My family came into town, and I think all in all we had something like 40 people at our house.  I thought I’d have time to throw up a post in the morning, but my mom and I ventured to the farmers’ market together, and when we got home I dove into baking up cookies.

Party = huge success.  My various kitchen concoctions were a success.  I made deviled eggs for the first time, and those disappeared quite quickly.  I also busted out lemon raspberry cheesecake bars, stout beer and blackberry jam cookies, coffee caramels, and pomegranate molasses chews.  To round it out we had some hot dogs and brats, cheese and crackers, fruits, veggies, chips and salsa, and some baked beans.  I whipped up some raspberry lemonade which we put out next to a collection of liquors we had somehow amassed over time, along with a cooler containing other alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.  We were afraid we would have too much food, but I think we have one bag of chips, one container of salsa, and 4 beers left.

It was a wonderful break from the drudgery of what has become every day life to spend a couple of hours with friends and family.  I don’t think I’ve laughed that much in a long time.  It stinks to have to return to regular life tomorrow, but I’m so grateful for the wonderful time we had yesterday.

Thank you to all the awesome people in our lives for really making this house feel like a home.

And for the ridiculous amount of wine you gifted to us. 

 

Posted on August 4, 2013, in House, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

