I Can’t Here You Over You’re Pour Grammar

See what I did there?

I’m a bit of a writing snob.  I know I’m not fantastic by any means, and goodness knows I like to make up my fair share of words, but it drives me absolutely bonkers when I see someone has written something on a public forum that shows a complete and utter disregard for what I feel like should be very simple grammatical rules.

I don’t know if it is because of the proliferation of features like spell check and autocorrect that people erroneously assume that technology is ultimately responsible for their typing and that it is built to catch things like the difference between “two” and “too”, a lack of knowledge, or a lack of caring, but I feel like more and more people are under the impression that such things don’t matter.

Blog posts, Facebook statuses, news articles, Twitter feeds, every single one of them, if I start reading something that says “your going to regret not holding on to your old Pokémon card collection” or “over here we see that crabs do not in fact sing in real life” or any other misuse of words that just happen to sound the same when you say them out loud, you instantly lose all credibility.

That’s another one, lose and loose.

I don’t really understand why this is difficult.  Especially the ones that have apostrophes in them.  It is a contraction, so if you really are having a hard time with it just split it into the two separate words.  If your sentence stops making sense, you’re using the wrong form.

Actually, I regret bringing up apostrophes.  Apostrophes get abused all the time.  They’re for possessives, not making something plural.  If I see that there is a group of horse’s out in the field one more time my head might explode.

People, please, if you want to be taken seriously as a writer/employee/person, take the 5 extra seconds to use the correct word.  I beg you.

 

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. you would love the oatmeal if you have not discovered it yet: theoatmeal.com

What's on your mind?

