The Backpack: It Lives!

Letter embroidery: 20 hours
Key embroidery: 28 hours
Fabric prep: 6 hours
Assembly: 6 hours

Total: 60 hours

60 hours, also known as “dear sweet Jesus I did NOT think it was going to take that long.”

Finishing this was one heck of an adventure.  The embroidery took way longer than I expected, and I ended up with only 1 week to actually put everything together.  The most surprising part?  It actually took me less than a week.  I was pretty sure I would be sewing up until we were getting in the car to drive to my parents’ on Wednesday.

This was my first time sewing a zipper, top stitching, and putting a lining in “the right way” (so no raw edges are showing at all), so it was quite the learning experience.  I have to say, the new sewing machine is awesome.  It’s smarter than I expected, which saved my butt a couple of times.  I think there were two occasions where I had to pick out stitches, and that was my first time top stitching (so not a straight line) and the first attempt at attaching the liner (which I sort of totally missed…I ended up just stitching a line on the other piece I was trying to attach it to,  oops!).

Since the backpack is an homage to the series Red vs Blue, the lining is made up of those two colors.  Since the pattern wasn’t designed with different linings in mind, it took a little creativity to get the pieces to play nice.  I ended up with the front pocket, front inside, and top of the side panel in red with the back inside and bottom in blue.  If I had been able to plan better I would have probably done the side pieces of the lining in black to represent the third “team”, but that was sort of an after thought and I really didn’t want to worry about not screwing up a third color.

There’s definitely some things that could be better about it, but all in all I’m happy with it.  Afterall, it is my first real sewing project in probably close to a decade.  While I’m not sure I’d do a repeat of this particular project again (I’ve had two people ask me if I’d consider selling them, but considering the time it took and the cost of materials I think there are 8 year olds in third world countries who would be making more money than I would), I’m definitely glad I did this one.  I’ll be interested to see what the response is from other people at the convention!

WHICH I TOTALLY LEAVE FOR THURSDAY MORNING AND I’M SO EXCITED OH MY GOSH.

Posted on July 1, 2013, in Life, Personal Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. WOW! It looks amazing! You did such a good job on it. Have fun!!! :D:D:D

What's on your mind?

