TCoFTH: Mother Nature Has A Sense Of Humor

You remember a few weeks ago when I planted my garden and said I wasn’t exactly expecting anything to grow since I tend to kill plants? This is what it looks like now:

Apparently I’m now so good at not killing things I managed to grow stuff I didn’t even plant.

We had a really steady rain for a while, and at the end of it, some tiny little green leaves started sprouting up.  They sort of looked like baby clovers, but since I can’t exactly draw a straight line and therefore can’t plant in a straight line, I was too afraid to start ripping stuff out for fear of prematurely ripping up some of my carefully planted sacrifices to planet Earth.  Turns out that was a terrible idea, because when we got back from our weekend trip the above picture is what I found.

Now there’s too much going on to try to do anything about it, so I’ve just resolved myself to the idea that the garden is just going to be a crapshoot this year.  I have some identifiable things popping up right now like cilantro, parsley, and basil, so now all I can do is keep my fingers crossed that the roots of my invaders don’t choke them out.

At least the tomatoes seem to be doing well!  I actually have little green ones.  Assuming they don’t die while we’re on vacation, I may have actually successfully grown something!

I also managed to resurrect the flowers I thought were dead.  Also not sure how that happened.  I’m guessing it’s magic.

Last time I posted about the garden, some of you mentioned starting your own…so how are yours doing?

Posted on June 27, 2013, in House, Life, The Chronicles of First Time Homebuyers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

