Secret Saturday: The Lowdown On Makeup

Oh my gosh two Saturday posts in a row!  What does it mean?!

I catch some crap for wearing makeup.  It’s not any one person, and it’s not like they’re mean about it or anything, but I get a pretty steady barrage of “I just don’t understand why you think you need that stuff” and the like.  The comments mostly originate from other women, and most of the other women in my life don’t use any, but it’s not exclusive to that gender.  In the moment I can never think of a good way to respond, but I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the question.

Here’s the thing: I don’t think I need it.

I mean, I do, but I don’t.

I don’t need it in maybe the way they’re talking about. I don’t need it to be a presentable human being.  There is nothing so grotesque about my face that it requires covering or I risk people fleeing and cowering in fear at the sight of me.    It is not needed to clarify my gender. I am not trying to emulate the flawless magazine woman.

For me, makeup is as much a part of my look as cute clothes are.  No one gives you any trouble for choosing clothes that make you look your best, so why is it a problem that I want to wear makeup in the same way?

like makeup.  I pick shirts that accentuate my waist and I pick makeup that play up my blue eyes.  I wear red shoes for the same reason I wear red lipstick.  Mascara is like a bra for my eyelids.

Okay that last statement gets a little weird if you have an over active imagination like I do.  But you get the idea.

I deal with my day by feeling as good as I can about myself, so I do my hair in that cute style that makes me look like I know what I’m doing and I wear that shirt that totally makes my built shoulders look fabulous and I do my makeup so that I look more awake than I actually am.  My scars speak of past troubles, so if I want to cover them because they are a reminder of things I am trying to leave behind why does that make me a bad person or a “poster of the traditional idea of beauty that is holding women back”?

Someone actually said that to me once.  Seriously.  Seriously?

I don’t wear makeup for your approval.  I wear it for mine.  If you think that makes me vain, self-absorbed, “part of the problem”, shallow, whatever, then you are the one with the problem, not me.

Posted on June 1, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

