A Stitch In Time

My mom used to sew a lot.  I mean a lot.  Like all of the bridesmaids’ dresses and flower girl dresses for several weddings a lot.  She still sews, but not nearly in the same quantities.  She still makes flannel blankets for friends and family having babies.  She does alterations to clothes.  She still does a lot, but full on construction doesn’t happen so much anymore just because of a lack of time.

I was always amazed at the stuff she could whip up, and how quickly she could do it.  I wanted so badly to be able to do it too, so one year for Christmas my parents gave me a small sewing machine and some supplies, and she would take a little time each week to try to teach me something new.  I didn’t get very far past the “look I can make a pillow!”phase for a long time, but at that point that was all I needed.  Eventually she taught me how to make a quilt and helped me put together a family tree quilt for a project I had.  When we did our next move, the sewing machine got packed up and never really made it back out of the box.  Things were too chaotic with that move, and by the time we got “settled” I was having other issues that needed more immediate attention, so it just kind of fell off the radar.

I’ve picked up random projects over the years (like the Link costume) and used my mom’s equipment since I’ve been home, but now that I’ve left that is obviously no longer an option.  I have a couch that I want to re-upholster, some rooms that need curtains that I have yet to find pre-made ones I like for, and some ideas for other small projects that would be made orders of magnitude easier by the presence of a sewing machine.  So, the box that had all my old sewing stuff came with us when we moved into the new house.  I unpacked it, ready to deal with the idea that it may just be so old it wouldn’t work anymore. It worked fine, but had a sort of different problem…

Yeah, apparently it had been so long that I couldn’t remember that way back when I was learning to sew I didn’t really need any stitch options besides fast, slow, and backwards.  Not exactly the kind of machine that’s going to cut it for heavy-duty materials.

I started doing some research.  Sewing machines have changed a lot over the years, and you can really spend any amount of money you want on one.  I didn’t want to break the bank and go whole hog on buying a fancy new one, but at the same time I wanted one that was going to be reliable and have the capability to cover the range of projects I have in mind for the forseeable future.  I found one that had decent ratings both from Consumer Reports and user ratings on Jo Ann’s website, and had the bonus of being pretty inexpensive on Amazon.  The fact that it’s branded as the “Project Runway Edition” makes me a little sad, mostly because I don’t want someone to get the idea that I bought it simply for that reason, but it’s a good do-all machine.  So, I bought it.  And a week later it was here in all of it’s pretty and accessorized glory.

Once I get cracking on projects I might talk a little more about the machine, but for now I will say I am impressed by the sheer number of attachments the thing came with.  Any possible presser foot I could want was included.  Presser feet I didn’t even know existed were included.  I’m playing a little with the different stitches to see what they do (OMG TWIN NEEDLES ARE COOL), but for now I’m going to stick to the projects I have at hand (one has a sort of due date, so I need to get cracking!).  Some time in the future I’ll find either a book or expert (*cough*Mom*cough*) to help me learn what the rest of the settings do and maybe figure out how to make some clothing.  Maybe.  That’s a little ambitious.

We’ll get there.

Eventually.

Maybe.

Do you do any sewing?

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I need a sewing machine! I am excited to see how you like yours 🙂

    My mom used to sew a ton too…she made my prom dress in 4 days and it was stunning! Gotta love moms 🙂

  2. Awesome! My mom is amazing at sewing too and is taking all these amazing fashion classes at our local junior college right now. She’s been working on helping the cast for a local production of Legally Blonde out with their costumes which I think is so awesome.

    Funny story – my mom helped me make a quilt too! Mine’s a t-shirt quilt with all of my favorite t-shirts from high school and college. Cobalt and I have have it on our bed now and I love it.

    It’s funny – all of my fancy sewing projects have also been done when I was visting my parents so I could use my mom’s super fancy sewing machine. I think Brother is a good brand for sewing machines. I have a Singer and it has been pretty decent. Sometimes it has infuriated me (like when I tried to make a case for my Kindle or a shark fin for a Halloween costume) but that might not entirely its fault… :-/

    • Also I just noticed your text on your top picture and the answer is yes… I have that fear as well… 🙂

      • Singer is what my mom has, but she says if she had a choice now she’d get a Brother so that’s why I picked it. The Singer has given her some trouble as far as gears are concerned and transferring power properly for thicker projects. But with that exception she’s really liked it.

        And I’m so glad you noticed my picture text 🙂 Good to know it’s not just me!

What's on your mind?

