Secret Saturday: Party Planning Pressure

My best friend is getting married at the beginning of May and has asked me to be her Maid of Honor.  Well, Matron of Honor, but that makes me sound old and this is my blog, so I can do and say whatever I want, so I’m saying Maid.

Her mom is planning the shower and I’m in charge of games.  I’m still working on it, but I’m not too worried about it.  What I am worried about is the bachelorette party.  Because the same people will be involved in both and many of them have weird work schedules, the Bride asked to do the party the same day.  I feel this odd pressure to make the party spectacular.  I’ve planned parties before, but for some reason this feels different.  Maybe it’s because it’s associated with such a huge event in her life.  Or maybe it’s because she did a fantastic job planning mine.  I don’t know, but I’m really really nervous.

It doesn’t help that I don’t live on that side of the state and moved away from it before I was of legal drinking age, so I’m not familiar with the bar scene whatsoever.  I don’t really know where to plan on going, and I don’t actually know most of the ladies she wants to invite so I have no idea if I need to be planning on accommodations for the night as well.  I finally got their contact info, so I sent out an email saying “this is what I’m planning on, this is where I could use some information, can anybody point me in the right direction?” and held out hope I would get some useful info from that.  So far all I’ve gotten is one person saying they can’t come, and two people saying they have no interest in the activity I had in mind and only want to partake in the bar hopping, but they don’t want to share transportation either.  I haven’t heard anything from the other ladies.  Sooo, not only have I not gotten help or information, I’m actually getting put in a tough spot trying to plan with what I do know.

She’s asked for it to be a surprise, and the only thing she had to say when I asked for any requests was that she wanted a “night of debauchery”, so on the one hand this should be easy.  I’ve been given full control, so I don’t have to worry too much about conforming to a specific plan.  But I’m afraid she has a plan in her head for what she would really like to happen, and I don’t want to disappoint her.  I’ve come up with a rough idea that I think will be fun and that she’ll like, but this irrational fear that I’ll have found the one thing that she doesn’t want to do is nagging at the back of my mind.

Of course, it won’t matter if more of the ladies come back and say they don’t want to do it.  I’m starting to wondering if maybe it’ll be too much to try to do something in-between the shower and going out for the night.  Maybe I’ll scrap it for now and keep the night simple, and give her a sort of IOU for a fun girls’ night where her and I and a few other (more fun) friends go out and do it later.

Why is this so hard?!

 

Posted on March 9, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life), Misc. Topics (Wedding), Wedding Planning Isn't For Sissies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh you will do great at planning…just have fun. Pink champagne never hurts either!

    I found this game a while ago and really thought it was funny…figured I would send it along as an idea if you are still looking for any:

    It is called “I hate chores…”

    Everyone (excluding the bride) is given a notecard on which they need to write and complete the phrase “I hate (chore) because (reason)”. For example, the first time I played I used the phrase “I hate doing laundry because it’s just going to get dirty again”. Everyone passes in their cards, and the bride reads them out loud. However, she is going to completely disregard the chore, and is instead going to say “I hate kissing because…” and fill in the reason that is on the card she is holding. So, from my example earlier, poor Sarah had to say “I hate kissing because it is just going to get dirty again”. The best one came from her sister and said “I hate kissing because by the time you take everything off and put it all back on again it really just doesn’t seem worth it” (the chore was dusting!).

  2. ^isn’t that your game idea?

    Wow… way to be unhelpful, girls…

    It’s hard because you don’t know the area AND the girls who might know it better than you seem to be really unresponsive and unhelpful… Boo… I think you have a good idea not trying to do much between the shower and the party. Maybe see if your friend has a favorite fancy restaurant to start the going out part of the evening with? You guys could head there for the beginning of the party (maybe play some silly “how we met the Bride and this is one thing we want to do for her to make her special night special/embarrassing/silly/whatever” game at dinner?) and then go out after that… :-/ Good luck…

  3. Hahahaha, you are correct Potassium. I will take that as a major compliment that my game is awesome.

    I’ve never seen pink champagne! I will have to look for that. Thanks for the suggestion Lauren!

  4. Korbel makes a good rose champagne (as we learned at my bachelorette party… :)) but there might be cheaper ones…

What's on your mind?

