Sick Of Being Sick

I don’t tend to get sick.  I get massive migraines when there’s a severe temperature change coming, but I don’t get sick-sick.  Except when I do get sick, I get sick.  I get hit hard, and even after I get rid of the main problem the side effects tend to hold on for what feels like forever.

Just chalk it up to another oddity of my body.  It’s like a virus gets in and my body just goes “oh well since you’re already here you might as well make yourself at home”.

In the middle of my terrible work project, I got sick.  Sick sick.  I’m actually blaming the project.  I’m convinced it ran me into the ground so hard that my immune system decided it was time for a vacation and took a nap, and in came the flu.  Not the stomach flu, the flu flu.  I woke up Superbowl Sunday, and I just felt really off, but I managed to wave it off.  My throat was really scratchy, but we hadn’t been running the humidifier lately so it was probably just dry.  I was achy, but we had been doing a lot of work the day before, so my muscles were probably just tired.  My stomach didn’t feel so great, but I blamed the lack of regular sleep recently.  I had a big headache, but let’s face it I’ve had a pretty constant one since the middle of January.

By the time I woke up for work the next day I was down for the count.  There was no explaining it away.  I was freezing no matter how many layers of clothing and blankets I had.  I was coughing.  I was congested.  I wanted to vomit.  Every muscle hurt.  I couldn’t really talk because my throat hurt so bad.  I went to work anyways because I had no choice (again, thank you stupid project), but left as soon as I could.  I spent the rest of the day popping DayQuil capsules like it was going out of style and taking naps because if I wasn’t conscious I couldn’t think about how awful I felt.

The only nice part about being sick is that I get to eat my “sick day foods” without feeling bad about it.  When I was growing up, the usual thing to eat (once you were sure you could keep food down and had tested that dairy wasn’t a problem) was saltines with some cream cheese on them and drink some ginger ale.  For some reason it’s absolutely delicious, but isn’t exactly the best meal for day-to-day activities.  Being sick stinks, but for two days straight that’s what I got to eat so no other food sounded remotely appetizing.  It was awesome.

Anyways, I was only out for a day and a half before I had to come back to work.  I wasn’t full-on sick enough to justify staying home, and I was afraid I was going to get too behind on my reports if I lost another day, but I still wasn’t feeling fabulous.  It’s gotten better, but it’s been almost 2 weeks and the last of it is still hanging on.  I still have what sounds like a smoker’s cough and can only ever breathe out of one side of my nose at a time.  I’m not even going to mention the other lingering side effects. It’s more annoying than anything else, but really as long as it’s gone by Tuesday or Wednesday I’ll be happy.  If this is still holding on when we leave for the honeymoon…well let’s just say I’m not exactly going to be thrilled.

Has anyone managed to escape the clutches of the flu this season?

Posted on February 18, 2013, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve managed to escape the flu but I have had some weird sinus infection/death cold for almost 3 weeks now. I’m in the middle of antibiotics and feeling better I guess but really really tired (and I can’t sleep)…. :p

  2. Boy, do I feel your pain! I hope you are back to full strength soon. I always wonder why I never get sick except during vacation.

What's on your mind?

