Emergency Vet Visits Are As Fun As They Sound

I’ve been trying really hard to get back onto my regular posting schedule, but the universe was just not having any of it this weekend.

Friday I was up at 4AM to get into work.  The short version of the story is that we got a new project in that requires a 24 hour run time and has about 2-3 hours of prep before you can start, on top of having sampling requirements at 10 hours and 12 hours.  To make it so no one has to go adventuring to work late at night, we decided an early start would be easier for everyone involved, and because I’m nice (and stupid) I volunteered to start our first run on Friday.  Sooo Friday morning I was in to work before the alarm had even disabled.

Needless to say I was way to exhausted by the time I got home to even remember my name, much less type.  I reasoned with myself, and promised a Saturday post.

This weekend we went to IL because it was my sister’s birthday, and of course brought Grif along with us for some socialization with my family dogs.  They all got along great, so I figured that Saturday night after Sis inevitably disappeared into the other room to play her new video games (Mass Effect trilogy courtesy of the parents and Orange Box courtesy of us), I would write a post while the dogs kept each other busy.

Then we ended up at the emergency vet clinic.

Grif is high energy, so it was a little weird when he got a little lethargic in the afternoon.  We figured he must have just been really tired from running laps around the house for hours with Trixie and Charlie.  Around dinner time, he had a bit of an issue with a bowel movement, but we attributed that to the giardia he’s still battling.  He ran inside and started eating.

And then he threw up.

Whatever, he’s thrown up before if he eats a bunch then drinks a ton of water.  That was not abnormal.

And then he threw up again.  And again.  And again.

He vomited 12 times in an hour.  10 of those were in under 45 minutes.

He’d climb in my lap and cuddle with me as close as he could, then start whining before jumping down to empty what was left of his stomach before climbing back into my lap.  It was one of the most depressing things to watch.  And worrying.  He had me legitimately scared.

I am so not cut out to be a mother.

We called the emergency vet to describe the situation, and they asked us to bring him in because of his age and size.  In the end, they were able to say with a good degree of confidence that it was likely he had eaten something that really upset his stomach but had no trouble passing through rather than anything truly dangerous (he wasn’t showing any other signs that would indicate he ate something poisonous or had an obstruction).  They gave him some sub-q fluids to get him rehydrated, along with some medications that would help calm his stomach, and we were back home.

He’s doing fine now and back to his old energy levels, so I’m sure we’re fine.  But, between the exhaustion from Friday and the emotional exhaustion of the vet trip Saturday, with all the traveling, I hope you will all forgive me for skipping my Friday post.

IMG-20130105-00060

On a related note, I will probably miss tomorrow’s as well as I attempt to recover from my zombie-like state.  Wednesday I have another 4AM day, but I think I’ll be able to get back on track by then.

I hope you all had a good weekend!!

Posted on January 20, 2013, in Dogs, Family, Life, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Poor puppy! I don’t blame you for being worried about it! I’m glad nothing was seriously wrong and that he’s back to being a happy, energetic puppy 🙂

What's on your mind?

