TCoFTH: Works In Progress Part 1 (Maybe One Day We’ll Actually Eat In Here)

I know it won’t see a ton of use, but I really wanted a formal dining room.  Growing up, eating in the formal dining room meant something.  You only did it for special events and holidays.  Despite it usually being in the middle of a natural traffic area, we always walked around it, because even just walking through it without a special reason to felt weird.  I really wanted to have that special place, so I was super pumped when this house had that space.

I’ve always loved the idea of what I like to call “royal colors” in the dining room.  You know, the deep reds, purples, and so on that you’d expect to see in some old school fancy pants castle.  My parents have always had the deep red, and it’s gorgeous, but I wanted to do something different, so Geoff and I decided on a deep purple for the room.

Our default colors are blue, purple, and teal.  We used them for the wedding, all our colored items in the kitchen are those 3 colors, it’s just our go-to.  We just like them.  So, when we were pulling paint chips for various rooms of the house, I pulled a couple of teals, because I really really really wanted a teal room.  I didn’t know which one, but gosh darnit one of them was going to be teal.  Somewhere along the way, Geoff did that thing where he makes a joke about something, and then after we think about it for a while we actually start to like the idea.  He made a crack about doing the dining room teal.

Well, now you’ve done it honey.

Say hello to our test patch.

My camera isn’t so good at capturing the color.  It really is teal, I promise.

Geoff is still on the fence.  I think it’s awesome.

Now I love bold and obnoxious colors, but I like to try to keep them classy most of the time (you’ll see one of my exceptions to that rule when I get around to painting the guest room).  Doing the whole room teal sounds like it would be too overwhelming for the space and make it feel small, which is the opposite feeling I want in a formal dining room.  So, to help break it up, we’re going to have a fun project and put up white wainscoting.

You might not have heard the term before, but I can almost guarantee you’ve seen the stuff before.  It’s wooden paneling that lines the lower part of the wall in a room.  Sometimes it’s a full panel, but most of the time it’s an effect achieved by clever moulding placement.

We haven’t determined the height yet for the wainscot, so when we put up the teal we’re going to do it down to the lowest height in consideration.  I’d rather have to cover up some teal with white than try to fill in more teal.

The room currently has 4 recessed lights.  That’s all well and good, but we really want a central chandelier-type light in here.  We’ll probably keep the recessed lights too, but have them on a separate switch so we have full control over the lighting.  That will be a project for much later though, seeing as how that requires cutting open the ceiling and wall to run new electrical.  Of course, if we didn’t want the chandelier on a separate switch we’d only have to cut into the ceiling, but where’s the fun in that?

The hunt for a table continues.  We’ve not had too much luck in our search, but that is another story.

Posted on January 7, 2013, in House, Life, The Chronicles of First Time Homebuyers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good luck with all of it. I’m sure you’ll find a table.

  2. fun times! Oh I cannot wait to have a house to make truly ours. 🙂 great choice on the wainscoting too…that will look awesome!

  3. I love wainscoting, especially in dining rooms! I can’t wait to see the result!

What's on your mind?

