A Year In Review: 2012

To say 2012 was a whirlwind of activity is an understatement.

The main attraction was of course the wedding.  While I would never want to plan one again, it was a wonderful time.  We got to share a very special moment with our family and good friends, and I think we threw one hell of a party afterwards (if I do say so myself).  It was fantastic to see everyone, especially those we don’t usually get to see.  Our “mini-moon” the week after was great too, spending the days just being silly and going to the zoo or gokarting while eating out at some of the nicer places in town.

I had a roller coaster of employment, to say the least.  I left my job at Fermi when they asked for volunteers to before they started letting people go before I had another job lined up.  I had a number of interviews, 2 of which were supposedly supposed to lead to job offers according to sources I had on the inside that somehow never materialized.  Out of the blue I was offered a job with MIT to continue work I had done at Fermi and was able to work for them for a little over a month producing data to be reported in a published journal.  Right when that work was about to end, I received a call from a recruiter that led to the job I’m in now, which, despite being biased, I’m convinced is a better fit for me than the other positions would have been.

By the way, I got word last week that the MIT paper was accepted for publication by JINST!  After the modifications they requested, I’ll officially be a published scientist!

After packing up most of my belongings, I moved in with Geoff at his parent’s place for 2 months while we looked for a house.  While we all get along great, I think everyone was a little relieved when we finally found a place of our own and were able to give them back their space.  It’s still a mess and needs some work, but it’s our mess.

And, of course, we added to our family.

2012 was quite the year, and I think the only major life change Geoff and I missed was kids.

Hey we can’t let 2012 have all the glory.

2013 should be a little more relaxed, but not any less exciting.  Just a different sort of exciting.

We have our honeymoon finally coming up at the end of February, we are resolving ourselves to getting back into better eating habits as well as better gym habits (he honeymoon will be a nice kickstart to that, and hopefully we won’t fall off the band wagon once that’s over), my best friend is getting married in May and I have the honor of standing with her, we have a number of projects lined up for the house, there are plans for a house-warming party, I have some craft projects in mind, and I’m sure there are a number of adventures we don’t even know about yet.

I also have a few blog related resolutions.  I’ve had some plans for this space for a while, but every time I was finally almost ready to implement them something major happened.  I’d like to think that’s excusable with all the changes that have come up in the last few months, but the fact is that if I don’t push for them there will always be something that comes up.  So, expect to see something a little different soon.  Good different I hope!

With that, I’d like to thank you all for sticking with me for an entire year.  The nifty year-end report from WordPress informs me that I received 8,700 views this year. Because I tend to vent here about life things, this is not a space I’ve shared with friends or advertised on Facebook.  Every new visitor to this site is here by pure chance and luck.  Each regular visitor I have is here not to support me as a person or as a friend, but me as a blogger, and I appreciate that support more than you know. Thank you for visiting, thank you for sharing, and thank you for coming back.

Congratulations on surviving 2012, here’s to making it through 2013!

 

Happy New Year everyone!

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Life, Misc. Topics (Life) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on making it through 2012! You had a lot of big adventures, and I’m sure 2013 will be just as much fun (though hopefully less stressful)! Happy New Year!

  2. Happy New Year! A wonderful year it was 🙂

What's on your mind?

