Well That Was A Little Unexpected

Okay, I know I said I was going to be better about regular posts.  I know I swore up and down I had posts lined up out the wazoo.  But I have a good excuse this time.  Really!

This is the part where you’d expect I continue talking about our progress with the house.  Goodness knows I have plenty to talk about.  But here’s the thing…

I’m tired of talking about the house.

For the time being anyways.

It’s going slower than we wanted and hoped, and there always seems to be some sort of complication with every stupid little thing.

I want a break.  So, I’m going to take a break and tell you about a new adventure we’re started on.

Sunday was our six month anniversary (yay!), and we decided this year was already nuts with the wedding, new job, and new house, so why not just really pile it on?

I’d like to introduce you to the third member of our family: Grif.

He’s a 10 week old miniature dachshund, part short hair part wire hair.  He’s a bit sleepy here, but at that point he’d had a pretty long day!

It is no secret that I have been wanting a dog.  I grew up with dogs, and it was pretty rough for me not having them around once I made the move to MI.  We talked about when we’d get a dog, and by no means did that conversation ever go to “before we’re actually really fully moved into our house”.  It just sort of worked out like that.

There are two breeds I have wanted for a very long time, dachshunds and Irish wolfhounds.  Geoff has been adamant I not have an Irish wolfhound (at least not in the near future), and while a dachshund wasn’t exactly his first choice, I think getting off the hook for the wolfhound for a decade or so seemed like a good option.  We were going to wait until we had been in the house a while to start looking, but my mom actually knows a breeder, and just as we were saying “yeah we’re going to think about starting to look for a dog” the breeder happened to mention to my mom (since she sees her on a pretty regular basis) that she had a litter she was starting to find homes for.

Faster than we intended?  Yes.  But it was just too perfect of a scenario.  We went back last weekend to meet him to see if he was a good personality fit, and we just loved him.  He’s one hell of a snuggler, energetic when you want to play and calm when you want to just relax.  He’s still got some adjusting to do, and of course there’s the adventures in training, but I’m already in love with him and so glad we did this.  Not entirely sure Geoff is completely on bored yet, but Grif is totally growing on him.

So, between just moving into the house and bringing a new puppy home in the middle of it, we’ve been a little preoccupied, a little busy, and really exhausted.  Stay tuned for more posts about the house, as well as updates on puppy training!

I hope you all have been having a good week!  Anything exciting going on in your lives?

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Dogs, Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on the newest member of your family! He’s adorable!

  2. He is so cute! What a great addition to the family 🙂

    It is totally OK that you are tired about talking about the house. Remember wedding planning burnout some evenings? Take it slow…there is not a deadline for this one 🙂

What's on your mind?

