I Am Thankful For Wine And Sleep

Since Geoff’s parents were in FL, we went to my parent’s in IL for Thanksgiving.  It was a great break to sit around with my doggies and Mom drinking wine and coffee and whatever else we wanted, all while watching football and browsing websites for furniture.

It wasn’t without its share of drama, but hey, that’s what family gatherings are for, right?

Petty bickering aside, it was a pretty awesome break, for all of us I think.  My dad was able to come up from AR, and we all got to sort of sit back a little (with the exception of my mom, who cooked like a crazy person, BUT did so with flair and deliciousness).

We learned a few years ago that if we ate Thanksgiving dinner at, well, dinner time, we always ended up eating ourselves sick.  We couldn’t handle the “I’ve waited all day for this so I didn’t eat much at lunch and now I’m hungry and oh my gosh look at all the food” that would happen.  Rather than changing our behavior (who has time for that?) we decided the best course of action would be to have Thanksgiving dinner as more of a late lunch.  We get up, you eat a good breakfast, you hang out and help cook and watch football, and about 2PM ish you sit down and count your blessings before cramming tasty turkey and mashed potatoes covered in gravy into your mouth.

This particular method ends great, because you get to eat whatever you want without trying to make up for what you didn’t eat earlier.  You eat til you’re full, then we pack up the leftovers into the fridge and just spend the rest of the day snacking on various homemade dips, veggies, and crackers, with chicken fingers available as something more substantial later on.  I’m convinced this is the perfect system.

I’m also convinced the world will implode if there is not green bean casserole on the table at Thanksgiving, so I may have a bit of a skewed view.

Also, as a side note, I’m going to get better about MWF posts again.  At least for the time being.  There is so much happening with the house that I’ve got material for the blog coming out my ears.

Did you have a good Thanksgiving?  Did you go anywhere or have any visitors come to you?

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Family, Growing Up, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a good Thanksgiving! I’m a big fan of the early afternoon Thanksgiving “dinner” for all of the reasons you described. Our Thanksgiving with the in-laws was very different – there was no TURKEY, let alone green bean casserole. It was still nice to spend time with them. Plus, we had our own mini-Thanksgiving when we got home 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great Thanksgiving! Glad you guys got to go home and eat tasty food. Green bean casserole is amazing and delicious. We basically had three Thanksgiving dinners over the course of last week. One with Cobalt’s family the weekend before Thanksgiving, one with my friend Jem’s family for “lunch” on Thanksgiving and then a Friendsgiving for “dinner” that same night… I wasn’t hungry again for a while after that…

What's on your mind?

