3 Days In

I think we can all agree that the part of training for a new job that is just reading and reading and reading some more kind of sucks and is completely overwhelming.  Sure I read 27 SOPs, but you can bet that all that did was tell me that it exists and when it’s actually time to do that task I”ll have to pull it right back out and re-read it as I’m doing it.

A mini-update on the new job, for those of you who may be interested!

I spent the first two days reading.  Literally just reading.  For 8 hours.  Both days.  I now know how to do a bunch of things I’m not actually allowed to do (like archive data sets or order equipment), and still not really anything about how to do my job, whatever that may be.  Yep, still don’t actually know what I’ll be doing.  Here’s what I do know:

  • There are only 21 people at the lab.  Myself and the other guy I had orientation with are the first hires they’ve had since last June.  Which also means they didn’t actually know how to do an orientation since they haven’t hired anyone since the company got bought and merged with another one.
  • I’m in method development.  This is code for “the FDA likes to focus on you when they do an audit”.  Woohoo.  Bonus: there’s only 2 of us.
  • It turns out I replaced one of Geoff’s friends who left for another job.  That was a funny revelation.
  • My desk is in the lab.  This means no water bottle, no gum, even no sticky notes (scrap paper in a GMP lab = bad) at my desk.

Tomorrow I’m suppose to shadow/assist on a method validation.  Considering I only just this afternoon read about what that actually means, I’m guessing it’s going to be an interesting day.  I’m excited for sure, but wow is it a bit daunting.  It’s also for a class 2 narcotic, so that adds a whole new level of “whoa” to tomorrow.

I really don’t know what to expect for the long run.  But considering I still don’t know even what I’ll be doing I guess that’s not surprising.  Hopefully it all comes together sooner rather than later so I can actually start forming an opinion beyond “whaaaaaaaaaaat is happening I don’t understand this is nuts”.

Happy Wednesday!

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Life, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Your desk location sounds like it sucks and the whole “orientation” experience sounds kind of frustrating, but hopefully it will all get better soon. Good luck with it all!

  2. I know what it’s like to sit in the laboratory. That’s where my desk is, and just like you, no snacks, no drinks etc. Many a day have I brought in a hot drink to enjoy and I have to leave it in the locker I have outside the lab and forget about it until it’s cold. I hope you actually figure out what your job entails!

What's on your mind?

