Two Roads Diverged

Today is it.  This is my last day in Illinois.  I’m packing up the car, and tomorrow morning I head to Michigan.

My sad, empty room.

It’s a very odd, bittersweet kind of feeling.  I am so excited to finally get to actually be with my husband, to be a real couple again.  I’m excited to start a new job where I’ll learn all kinds of new skills.  I’m excited to be around my friends again.  At the same time, it’s sad to be moving away from my family.  Granted, they are moving too, so even staying here wouldn’t fix that, but I still feel like I am leaving them, and it makes me feel terrible.  I love spending time with my parents (and my sister in those rare moments when we get along), and it saddens me that I won’t get to come home from work, put on a plastic tiara, and have a cocktail or glass of wine with my mom while we talk about our days and judge people on Say Yes to the Dress.

I was so distracted by the packing for the last week that I was fine.  I had a few moments where I got sad over the weekend, mostly when we moved all my furniture out and it was pretty empty, but overall it wasn’t a big deal.  The hard part has been the last 2 days after Geoff was gone and most of the chaos was over.  My mom is already a little on the emotional edge since my dad left on Saturday to go start his new job, so the idea that I’m leaving tomorrow is impacting her more than it probably would usually.  The last few nights when it’s just been us still up if anything gets said that’s remotely mushy she starts crying, and I’m a sympathetic crier on top of being a big baby, so then I start up, and then we’re both a mess.

It’s been a little rough.  I know it’s going to be fine and everyone is going to continue their lives just fine, and I’m genuinely excited to move to MI to be with Geoff, but it just kind of sucks to be leaving my dogs and my family behind in the process.

Okay I’m done complaining about being overly emotional.  For now.  I’m sure it’ll happen again.

Do you live far away from the rest of your family?  Was it difficult to do?  Any tips for myself or anyone else on how you dealt with it?

Odd Suggested Tags of the Day: Hunger Games, Test Assessment, and Bridgewater Associates.  +10 internet points to anyone who can explain why the heck those are suggested.

Posted on September 26, 2012, in Growing Up, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve lived far away from my family since I was 18. It was and has been really hard. I think making a “family time” each week where you call your family helped me. Every Sunday night, I know I’m going to get to catch up with my mom and dad. Though I am pretty much talking to my family all the time. I e-mail my parents throughout the week and chat with my sister on Google Chat while we’re both at work. I think it helps make the distance a little better, though I’m not going to tell you that it makes it any less sad to be far away. It’s kind of a sad process. Sorry that your parents are moving away soon too… Booo…

    But yay getting to be with Geoff!!! 🙂

  2. I completely understand. I went to undergrad in NYC where I also worked for a year after graduation. I wanted to get out of NC, but it was tough being so far away from my family, though I did get to go home for the summers when I got internships. After that I moved to Korea to teach English for a year, which really made me miss them. I knew that going home wasn’t just an expense and inconvenience – it was pretty much an impossibility (trust me, I didn’t have the $1,200 for a plane ticket even if I had the time off). Even talking on the phone (or via Skype) was difficult because of the extreme time difference. Now I’m only 4 hours away, but it’s still not exactly a day trip. Luckily, my husband (still getting used to calling him that) loves the area they live in, so I’m going to try to get a job there after I graduate.

    At least you’ll be with your husband, even though you’ll probably still miss being close to your family. Like K, I try to keep in touch as much as possible. I talk to my mom on the phone just about every night, even if it’s just for a couple of minutes. It’s nice to hear what’s happening on a day-to-day basis, even though it’s not the same as being there.

What's on your mind?

