Forget Birdcage Veils And Winter Wonderland Themes: Wedding Trends I’d Rather See

I am not usually one for trends.  I don’t consider myself trendy, and find that I usually go “ew, really?” when the new trend for a season or event starts making waves.  There are some things starting to pop up in weddings though that I’m kind of in love with and think that they should be trends.  I’m going to share some of my favorites in the hopes that you all read this and say to your friends “oh we should totally do this!” and they catch like wildfire.

Trend-wish #1:  We’re 5 year olds trapped in adult bodies.

Just because it’s a wedding doesn’t mean you have to act like adults.  Bonus points if you make it your mission to not be acting like adults.  I don’t mean act like a selfish 5-year-old, but I love the couples that have kid-like fun.  I’m talking playgrounds and ice cream trucks, games of kickball played in your wedding clothes (I CANNOT for the life of me find the picture from this wedding again, but I would have paid money to be there).  Just because you’re an adult getting married doesn’t mean all the silly things you enjoy go out the window.  I think everyone could use a healthy dose of “growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional” in their wedding, just like this couple who incorporated everyone’s favorite elementary school activity: the parachute.

Or you could go this route and get married in a sweet bouncy castle.

Trend-wish #2:  Superheroes for the win

It seems those charged with protecting the world’s innocent people are getting hitched too.  I love that these couples are incorporating their love for comic books in ways that are simultaneously subtle and blatant.  This is as personal as a wedding gets and is taking trend-wish #1 to a whole new level.  From the color palette to the table decorations to the capes to the bride’s epic boots, this is a superhero themed wedding at its finest.  But shh, we need to keep their identities a secret!

Trend-wish #3: We’re nerds and we love it.

It’s no secret I’m a nerd.  I wanted to incorporate some of it into the wedding, and lucky for me Geoff is a bit of a nerd himself so he had no problem with it.  We included Zelda references (the main theme as our recessional and a Triforce engraved on my band), science jokes (our periodic table seating chart, some equations on the cake, and a few “Bazinga” Big Bang Theory references), and Red vs Blue (“Bleep Bloop” appeared a number of times at the reception as well as being referenced in Geoff’s band, and our signature drink was named for one of the characters and his tagline).  It was in your face, but hidden at the same time, which is why I loved it all.

Major bonus points to couples who embrace their dorkyness and make it a focal point in their wedding.

Trend-wish #4:  If you aren’t this excited about being married, you’re doing it wrong.

Seriously, if every first married kiss looked like this I think the world would be a better place just by default.

It’s perfectly fine to show some restraint (and please do, this is not the appropriate time for some tongue action), but come on, you just got married!  Look a little excited!  Be happy!

Is there anything that you wish would catch on as a wedding trend?

You know, other than staying married?  OOOOOOOOOH HOLLYWOOD BURN.

Posted on August 27, 2012, in Misc. Topics (Wedding), Priorities, Wedding Planning Isn't For Sissies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

