DIY Project #4: Jewelry!

There’s a local woman who sells jewelry at the summer farmers’ market that is really quite beautiful.  My mom, sister, and I all have bracelets from her, and we’ve bought several as gifts.  Originally, I was going to have her make a necklace and earring set for each of my bridesmaids.  Well, cut to 8 months later and suddenly I’m realizing that I cannot justify that cost.  They’re really pretty, but I can’t spend that much money at this point.  Obviously solution?  Just skip ’em!

Except that wouldn’t be very exciting, would it?

Second obvious solution?  After my mom made my necklace and seeing the price she could order the Swarovski beads for, in theory I could do them myself!

See, that’s more fun isn’t it?

I ordered a variety of bead shapes and sizes in some blues and purples, found some itty-bitty crimp beads at Jo-Ann’s, and splurged on getting some good stringing wire.  I played with the crimping on a piece of scrap wire left from when my mom did my necklace, and after I got comfortable with that I just dove in.

Turns out if you give yourself too many choices you can easily spend 30 minutes just picking out which beads you want to use.  It also looked like the bead factory threw up on our kitchen table.  We had to eat dinner at the coffee table in the living room.

Oops. Sorry Mom.

Anyway, not only did I get the mess cleaned up, but I got the necklaces and matching earrings all planned out!  I made all 3 sets unique so that they were personal for each girl.  Lucky for me blue and purple are at the top of their lists of favorite colors, so I got to kind of cheat and make them stuff that would go with the dresses if they wanted to wear them for the wedding 🙂

Here are the necklaces!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I couldn’t get a good picture of the earrings, but they look just like the side parts in the first two necklace pictures.

Tim is convinced I could sell these on Etsy.  At first I thought he was crazy, but I find myself strongly considering it…

Posted on May 12, 2012, in DIY Series, Wedding Planning Isn't For Sissies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Those look great! Etsy is great – I have an Etsy shop at HausofAriella.etsy.com. The thing about Etsy is that the jewelry market is really saturated. However, if you aren’t looking to make a killing at it, you should give it a shot! It’s a lot of fun!

    • Awesome! I love your Tardis stuff.

      If I do it it would definitely just be a for fun kind of thing. No plans to quit my day job or anything 🙂

  2. Do it!!! Those are awesome pieces! I love blue and purple too so I am a huge fan. 🙂 Nice work… though sorry that you guys had to eat in the living room… hehehe

    • Thanks!

      As soon as I put the “we’re having a picnic!” spin on eating in the living room everyone seemed fine with it. It was kind of awesome.

What's on your mind?

