Ring Ring: Wedding Bands

It’s tradition for the bride and groom to exchange rings as a sign of their marriage.  While this is a tradition that is sticking rather steadfastly, couples are finding ways to inject their own quirks into this tradition.

Rings have evolved to the point where they don’t even have to be made of metal any more.  Wood rings (like these here) are showing up as unique alternatives to traditional bands.  While you have to take better care of a ring like this, its a great option if you have a nickel or gold allergy, or if you are the really outdoorsy type and want everyone to know it.  Carbon fiber is starting to make an appearance in rings as well.

Even within the “traditional” ring category, there are a number of metals available to you.  Rings can now be made of titanium, tungsten, or palladium.  Each has their own strengths and benefits, and some allow you different metal shades , something you couldn’t get out of a gold band.  You can also choose just about any stone you want, if you even want a stone!  Want something plain?  Get a plain one!  Love Peridot?  Get a Peridot stone!  It’s completely up to you!

The real secret about wedding bands is that if you’re not a traditional person, you can really use any ring you want.  Heck you don’t even have to have a ring if you really don’t want one (turns out Tim’s dad didn’t have one for YEARS).  I am actually not choosing a formal wedding band.  I absolutely love the engagement ring Tim gave me, and not only do I think it’d be a shame to put something next to it and cover up the diamonds that are on the side of it, but even looking at it from the top I have yet to find anything I actually like sitting next to it (and I’m sure as heck not going to stop wearing it!).

I did choose a plain, relatively inexpensive band (it’s plain right now, currently I have a plan to have something engraved in the top of it) that I plan on wearing in situations where I don’t want to be flashing my gorgeous ring around (such as traveling).  While my mother still insists “but he has to put something different on your hand for the wedding!  You can’t just look engaged forever!”, I’ve gotten rather skilled at tuning that out.  This is the option that works for us, so it’s what we’re doing.  It will still be present at the wedding; I’ll probably wear it on the other hand, just so I can call it a “wedding” ring and not feel like I’m lying.  Tim chose an awesome tungsten ring with a two-tone finish.  They came in a week ago and look fantastic!  They’re being engraved now (I am TOTALLY pumped for the silly/nerdy message I had put in Tim’s ring), and we get to pick them up for good at the end of the month.  We’ve decided I get custody of them because he doesn’t have the willpower to NOT look at what I had put in his ring (not like I would have the willpower to not look either, but he didn’t put anything in mine so there’s no secret to be kept there).

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Budget, Misc. Topics (Wedding), Wedding Planning Isn't For Sissies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oooo I like the idea of secretly engraving stuff on the other one’s ring! We’ve been looking at some titanium bands with fun colors on the bottom that can be engraved. Hrmmmmmm…. 🙂

    • They have colors of those?! That’s awesome!

      I hadn’t originally planned on doing it as a secret until the jeweler mentioned it…then I kind of thought it was brilliant. I was a bit nervous picking something to put in it without Tim’s input, but I’m totally geeked about what I decided on. Right now he’s not doing anything inside mine, but I’m secretly hoping he changes his mind…

What's on your mind?

