The Beginning of a Long, Long Journey

My fiancé (we’ll call him Tim) proposed on February 26, 2011 during what seemed to be a regular ole visit.  For someone who used to get so nervous before the first day of school that he literally got sick, you’d think it would have been obvious he had some kind of plan that day.  Somehow he kept it together, and after taking me out for a day of relaxing to forget about the stresses of job woes and graduate school decisions, he popped the question, and promptly whisked me away to a dinner with both of our parents that he had already arranged.  That sneaky jerk.  We called our closest friends and family that night, and the first thing to follow “congratulations!” was “so when’s the date?”.

Really?  We’ve been engaged 10 minutes and you want to know what date we’ve picked?  I only just picked out my pajamas for the night and you want a date already?

After those first few phone calls, it was obvious to us that this was not exactly going to be a cake walk (which I find to be an odd phrase in itself, I definitely never won anything at a cake walk).  We decided we’d spend a week basking in the glow of our newfound relationship status, and that we’d really start thinking about planning after that.  Afterall, we already knew we were summer people and that we sure wouldn’t be able to put something together in the 3 months we had til summer began or even the 6 months until it ended, so at the earliest we’d be looking at would be May 2012, a whole 15 months away.  We had all the time in the world!

Right?

This is where I think I should give you a little background on Tim and myself.  We currently don’t live together, we don’t even live in the same time zone right now.  You see, we met in college.  In physics.  Yes, before you ask, we are total nerds.  We spent our school years together, and then the summer months apart when I went home to Chicago because I had an internship there.  After we graduated, I was offered a full-time position at the lab where I had been an intern that I could work until I made a decision on whether or not I wanted to go to graduate school (because saying that I’m indecisive is like saying it’s dark at the bottom of the ocean).  Considering I needed to find a job that a) paid well and b) I didn’t hate but that was still temporary enough that I wouldn’t feel awful leaving for grad school (not to mention it was straight up offered to me), we agreed it would be stupid for me to turn it down.  So, here I am in Chicago, and there he is back home in Michigan.  It’s only a 3 hour drive, which makes it easy for us to see each other on the weekends, so we’ve made it work, knowing that one way or another I’d end up making the move back to MI, whether for grad school or for a job.

Of course when we decided that, it hadn’t occurred to me that I’d have to worry about planning a MI wedding.

Planning a wedding from a distance adds a new layer of complexity to an already labrynthian process.  To say I have seriously racked up miles on my car driving back and forth to do appointments is an understatement, and that 15 months has quickly dwindled to under 10.  On the other hand, it has forced a level of organization that I think most brides overlook.  So that is what I plan to share with you over the next couple of months.  How I organized a to-do list that seems to constantly grow, researched vendors, started making choices, all of it.

By the way, we did pick a date.  June 9, 2012, here we come!

Let the countdown begin…

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Personal, Wedding Planning Isn't For Sissies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's on your mind?

